A letter to myself, in times of hardship

Dear Xin,

I’m writing this letter to tell you something important. No matter how hopeless you feel, no matter how hard life seems, no matter how bleak and overwhelming and terrifying things look, do not give up. Shihan said it and I’ll say it too: it always gets better. You can and will be happy in the future. And man, let me tell you, it’s so worth it. Being happy is so much better than being unhappy, so even though it’s hard, put in the effort and never give up. Never stop trying to be happy and enjoy life in every moment. In a fear-driven state of mind, you can only project fear-driven futures.

But that is not all that awaits you. You have no idea how amazing life gets, how much you’ll enjoy the many things that could happen and the sort of person you could become.

Hang in there. Life is in a perpetual state of awesome, and if you take the time to notice it, the rich pleasures all around you can be enjoyed in every moment.

Life gets better my friend. You just wait and see.

Xin, 15/04/2013

3 thoughts on “A letter to myself, in times of hardship

  1. […] the world and other people. I wanted to write down the key lessons I have learned in case I ever forget them, and in case they are useful to others. This post is the very essence of everything I have […]

  2. […] some kind of meme going around for giving advice to your high school self. I’ve written letters to future versions of myself, and but it’s been a long time since I’ve considered retrospective advice. So to my […]

  3. […] This haiku is also a metaphor for not being able to imagine a positive future because you’re currently in a negative mindset. […]

Leave a Reply

