A small note on violence and teaching

A while ago, I wrote a blog about the necessity of violence in the world. I queried whether it would be the best thing to do to try and defeat all the Alpha Males in the world to protect other people and educate them on good action. I see now that it is a fruitless and overwhelming endeavour. To put it simply, there are too many idiots in the world, and if I make it my mission to educate them all, I’ll burn out by the time I reach the end of the street. I cannot take responsibility for the education of strangers (unless of course they directly appeal to me to help them become better people). And often, the aggression I would need to show to dominate them (even if I believed it to be for the greater good) would be totally unnecessary, and just serve to incite more violence. Further, I am absolutely certain that I would not be able to win many of the fights in this metaphor- I am not an invincible, infallible champion of justice. I am a human being, and the best thing I can do for everyone around me (and consequently, everyone around them) is to be the best person I can be. As Shihan Dan wisely says, you just can’t swat every mosquito at a barbecue; you’d be better off putting on insect repellent or going inside.

 

EDIT: It also occurs to me that I haven’t addressed the major flaw in all of these musings; the assumption that my way is best. That I not only have the right, but the responsibility to challenge Alpha’s for dominance. What a disrespectful, egotistic, even arrogant assumption that is. No friends, wherever possible, conflict is best avoided unless it requires me to sacrifice my own quality of life for the long-term.

Leave a Reply

