Tao Te Ching, Verse 71: Living without sickness

This verse rings especially true to me after my adventures on gashuku. Having slept well, eaten well, exercised well, interacted socially well, and found a high level of spiritual health over the course of a week in the mountains, returning to city life has been challenging. I’ve instantly noticed the effects sugar has on my body, and I’ve come to understand my sleeping patterns much better. Good health is surprisingly easy to maintain, but with the trappings of the city life, it’s easy to get bogged down. I aspire to maintain a light and healthy life, wherever I am!

Verse 71 [my interpretation]

Knowing you are ignorant is wisdom.
Ignorantly knowing is folly.

Only when you choose to be healthy will your sickness disappear.
The sage knows that a healthy mind keeps a healthy body,
and she has no tolerance for unhealthy thought and action.
Yet she also knows that it is the nature of the body to experience pain and illness,
and she accepts them when they come.
She knows that what happens to her body need not affect her spirit.

Knowing these secrets is the key to good health.

2 thoughts on “Tao Te Ching, Verse 71: Living without sickness

  1. Bethwyn says:

    I’d love to have this hanging on my wall as a reminder. It feels so true to me. Perhaps I should read this book? <3

    • Xin says:

      Note that I’ve edited the passage slightly! I’ve been thinking over it these past two days and I have a new interpretation I’m happier with <3

Leave a Reply

