Boredom

Practically all my life I have asserted that I do not get bored- that I am too intelligent to allow myself to be bored, and that I always enjoy having a large number of things to do. If there is ever a free moment, I have plenty of activities to occupy it. I keep a large stock of things for that very purpose: I’ve bought dozens of games which I haven’t played yet, have lists of books to read and movies to watch, keep a large supply of anime and TV shows worth viewing… Yet despite all that, there are times in my life where I don’t feel like doing any of it, despite having so much available to do. I realise with some surprise that that feeling is boredom.

What I fear most in life, it seems, is boredom. That is amazing, to put it so simply. But now that I’ve realised it, what do I do about it?

2 thoughts on “Boredom

  1. Lee says:

    I read somewhere recently about a couple who decided to stop watching television and the guy became bored. So he created a list of things he wanted to do or learn (and they could be something simple like ‘learn to juggle’) then whenever he felt bored, he’d go to the list and work on something that was on it. Would that work for you?

Leave a Reply

