Deadpan

I found a new word today. Deadpan. It’s an adjective that describes having a very careful pretense of calm detachment or seriousness, or displaying no emotion whatsoever. I am often deadpan when confronted with stressful situations or moments where I should be upset, because something in me tells me nothing good will come from being angry or crying, and it’s better to just accept things or do something about it.

 

I know I’m just procrastinating, but I felt like this is probably one of the defining words of my life, and it was important to acknowledge it. Better here than facebook.

One thought on “Deadpan

  1. […] This is psychologically disastrous (something I should note for myself in the future when I feel deadpan), and will ultimately lead to the expression of the Dionysian principle in a way that is […]

Leave a Reply

