Hello world!

So! After five and a half years of blogging with Windows Spaces they have made a move towards WordPress. I think I like the change and how clean this site looks, but I will miss the background of that curious boy looking up into space through a telescope. I don’t have time at the moment, but I’ll customise and fully pimp out the site in the future.

Speaking of not having time, this seems to be an increasingly regular occurence. You know, I made the change to studying part-time in order to have more time to study. Instead I justified taking on new hobbies and commitments, instead becoming busier than ever. In high school I followed the philosophy “You’ll always have the same amount of time, it’s up to you how much you fit into it”. I figured that in a week you could have no commitments or ten and the week would be just as busy, with more or less achieved. I don’t think that’s such a good rule to live by. Parkinson’s law is that work will expand to fill available time, so you’ll always be busy no matter how hard you try to get it all done. It’s just doing work that counts. And lately, I think I’ve gotten my priorities wrong with study somehow piling up, readings going undone as I struggle to hand in overdue assignments. It’s amazing how I let myself end up in such situations, but I guess I just enjoy procrastinating.

So, I’d like to end this blog entry with a short note to myself. Xin, now is that time you’ve been putting your work off until. Today is the day you knuckle down and get everything done. There will never be tomorrow, so don’t wait until then to do what you have to, and to do it damn well.

Now, onto a more important blog entry which has been somewhat overdue…

Leave a Reply

