Karma

I’m going to throw out all the good karma I made today by bragging about it now. I was waiting for the bus at 6:00pm at Curtin after a long day of study and classes, re-reading Eat Pray Love to pass the time. There was quite a sizable group of transmuters waiting to go home, maybe twenty people or so at the one stop. The moment the bus appeared I shut the book and grabbed my stuff, standing and moving to around the front of the line so I wouldn’t lose my place. And then, something stopped me and I asked myself, "Why am I trying to get on first so badly? What difference will  it make if I get a seat or not?" I recalled a story Ajahn Brahm told about a "bodhisattva", I think- someone who deliberately puts themselves last so that others may go before them. And so I stepped out of line, challenging myself to be with discomfort so others could get the seats under the air conditioning. And the moment I put myself last, another bus appeared behind the first, virtually empty. In the bustle of boarding the many buses to get home, I was the only one who noticed it, and when I got on, he told me it was heading directly to Oat St station.

And that, my friends, is why I believe in karma.

One thought on “Karma

  1. Bethwyn says:

    Omg that’s awesome! I’m so proud of you baby. <3

Leave a Reply

