More quotes

I was going through my desk, clearing out (firstly) all the paper that I don’t need. It’s just clutter. I aspire, like Ajahn Brahm, to have one shelf, with one object on it, and when another object comes along to be able to throw the first one out. Over the next day or so I hope to empty my room of all the stuff I don’t need but cling onto. How much easier it would be to clean an empty house!

Anyway, I threw out most of the paper I was hoarding, but some of them are sweet memories from times gone past, and others are useful references. Some of the things which I am throwing out but want to keep a memory of are quotes I’d like to share with you.


"The Other Side of Dawn" – John Marsden.
"The old stories used to end with ‘They all lived happily ever after’. And you’d often hear parents saying: ‘I just want my kids to be happy.’
That’s crap, if you ask me. Life’s about a hell of a lot more than being happy. It’s about feeling the full range of stuff: happiness, madness, anger, grief, love, hate. If you try to shut one of those off, you shut them all off. I don’t want to be happy. I know I won’t live happily ever after. I want more than that, something richer. I want to go right up close to the beauty and ugliness. I want to see it all, know it all, understand it all. …That’s the best way I can lead a life that I can be proud to call my own. I want to experience everything it has to offer: LIFE!"


Answer of the Year award, Year 11 Economics.
Mr Osnain: State! What are the responsibilities of the state government? *points directly at David Graham*
David : *is nudged and looks up, startled* 18.5%!


Reality is an illusion.

Truth is perception.
Fantasies are real.
What is real?
What you say?
Or what I do?

-Reality is a construction. If anything is an illusion it is that there is a single, shared reality.

[How’s that for mindblowing? Even as an English Lit student I was asking some pretty big questions. Such an idealist.]

Leave a Reply

