Lessons from Illness

Just something to think about and to remember. I especially love No. 9.

By Michelle Schoffro Cook


When
I was 19, my life seemed to have fallen apart: I was bedridden, unable
to move my own limbs most of the time, had to give up university and
work, diagnosed with a rare and terrifying illness, and was told my
life would “only get worse.” I couldn’t even imagine worse. Unable to
get out of bed most days I spent what little time I wasn’t sleeping
thinking, praying, and reflecting. “This can’t be the totality of my
life,” I often thought, desperately wanting to have a more “normal”
existence, go to school, earn a living, and be a contributing human
being. Now, most of you may already realize that the story gets better
because I’m sitting here writing this blog and have authored six books
as well. That experience took my life in a direction I could never have
predicted and taught me so many valuable lessons. Here are some of the
things I learned:

1. My self worth has little to do with how much I earn, how much I know, or how much I do.

2.  Connection with one’s soul is inherently valuable.

3. Now that I can work, I am SOOOOO grateful and express this
gratitude regularly. How wonderful it is to express my soul’s purpose
through my work.

4. What a joy it is to be able to get out of bed every morning.

5. How wonderful it is to nourish my body with healthy foods–they played a significant role in my recovery.

6. I am a contributing human being as long as I am expressing my
soul, its light and love, even if it is only in a positive thought or a
smile.

7. To stop thinking of the things “I can’t do” and focus on the many
things “I can do.” I heard an interview with a writer who became
disabled from an accident. He said, “before the accident I could do
10,000 things. Now, I can do 9,000 things. It’s incredible to be able
to do 9,000 things.”

8. What a miracle life is in all its myriad forms.

9. To stop judging myself against someone else’s capabilities,
beauty, skills, or other attributes. I am a powerful, beautiful, and
worthwhile human being because I choose to express my soul.

10. What bliss it is to be able to put my arms around my husband and
hold him. The body that I once cursed now gives me great joy. How
incredible it is to express my soul through my body.

Michelle Schoffro Cook, DNM, DAc, CNC is a best-selling and six-time book author and doctor of natural medicine, whose works include: The Life Force Diet, The Ultimate pH Solution, and The 4-Week Ultimate Body Detox Plan. Learn more at: www.TheLifeForceDiet.com.

One thought on “Lessons from Illness

  1. Bethwyn says:

    That’s beautiful.I don’t know how many things I can do..

Leave a Reply

