Regrets

Many of us have done things we are not proud of. Things we wish we hadn’t done, things we think of throughout the course of our lives and think, "I should have done this" or "Damnit, I was such an idiot". But eventually, like Liz Gilbert, there comes a time when you just have to let the damn thing go. You can’t change what’s happened, and you can try all you like to make amends for your terrible, terrible mistakes, but that will not change the fact that you did them. And you chose to do them, for one reason or another, and you have to accept that. Once you realise that yes, you did do something that might have been stupid, something hurtful or harmful or terrible, but it happened, and all the consequences that ensued happened too. And once you internalise that knowledge, the action and all it caused is dissolved in the overwhelming flood of love and forgiveness and freedom.

Some day, maybe not today, maybe not tomorrow, I’m going to forgive myself for everything I’ve ever done to harm myself and others. And I hope you can forgive me too, and may our scarred and damaged relationships be healed from that mutual forgiveness, and we go on being the best of friends again. Whoever it is I’m talking to, good luck my friend.

Leave a Reply

