.

When I started Taekwondo on the 23rd of January, 2007, I was one of two white belts in a class composed entirely of black belts. I trained with diligence and dedication, and I can say now that my technique was better than most of the coloured belts and some of the black belts. I was a star, and I strived to improve, always pushing myself, always eager to leap ahead.

As I am now, I am less flexible than the day I joined. The tendons in my legs are scarily tight, and they seriously limit the height of my kicks. It went from above my head to just above my shoulders. And every day I train, it gets a little bit worse.

The black belt grading is in nine days. The 25th of May. I feel it quite cruel that the longer I am made to train, the less chance I have of going for it. Master Ross has made no sign that he’ll let me sit it, and if I am denied, I will have to train another four to six months for the next grading. I’m worried that, by then, I won’t be able to kick at all.

But I’m not giving up. I’m going to keep training, and I’m going to get my black belt. It has been my dream for so many years, and I believe that it’s probably worth being crippled for life by a build-up of scar tissue. Kinda sucks though.

Wish me luck for getting in. Rar.

One thought on “.

  1. Coco says:

    Aw, Xin! That’s so sad. Reality is such a pain.. And that was a really bad unintentional pun, but eh. I’d ask to watch if you’re accepted, but I think you need to focus on the grading. Just make sure pictures are taken and stuff :PDon’t give up! gambatte! Good luck.

Leave a Reply

