The Curious Incident of the Dogfood in Aisle 1

I spent an awful long time on Wikipedia yesterday reading up about psychological/mental sort of conditions, and I was ecstatic to see that someone out there understood me. Below are two lists that make me feel comfortable with myself as a person because I’m not the only one.

Signs of Obsessive-compulsive disorder

  • Repeated hand-washing, requiring liquid soap when at all possible.
  • Specific counting systems- arranging objects in even numbered groups.
  • Perfectly aligning objects at complete, absolute right-angles, or aligning objects perfectly parallel.
  • Fear of acting out on violent or aggressive impulses, or feeling overly responsible for the safety of others.
  • Fear of contamination. (Refusal to touch something that is potentially dirty, and therefore, dangerous.)
  • A need for both sides of the body to feel even. Stepping on a crack with my left foot means that I have to step on a crack with my right foot. If I accidentally knock my left foot against an object, I must knock my right foot against something too.
  • When something is twisted one rotation in one direction, it must be twisted back exactly one rotation in the opposite direction. Eg. locks, pen lids.
  • Every pen that I use must have its lid aligned with the writing on the body.
  • All CD’s must be right way up in their cases.
  • Repetitive behaviour that I am driven to perform in response to an obsession, with rules that must be applied rigidly and without exception. Examples: Using exactly the same model of pen and type of paper to write on.
  • Unnatural fondness for symmetry and patterns rather than random disorder.
  • Always resetting things to ‘neutral’ after their use. Example: After doing things in my room, everything must be put back exactly where it came from.
  • The recognition that my urges and impulses for the above are not entirely rational, merely products of my own mind rather than based on reality.


Signs of obsessive-compulsive personality disorder

  • Preoccupation with details, rules, lists, order, organization, or
    schedules to the extent that the major point of the activity is lost.

  • Showing perfectionism that interferes with task completion (e.g., is
    unable to complete a project because his or her own overly strict
    standards are not met).

  • Excessive devotion to work and productivity to the exclusion of leisure activities and friendships. (I would rather finish unloading my cage than take a break with everyone else.)
  • Inability to discard worn-out or worthless objects even when they have no sentimental value.
  • Reluctance to delegate (give) tasks or to work with others unless they submit to exactly my of doing things.
  • Hoarding money in case of future emergencies.
  • Urge for perfection to the smallest detail.
  • Rigidity and stubbornness.

I’m sure there are more that I can’t think of right now, but those are the lists so far.

2 thoughts on “The Curious Incident of the Dogfood in Aisle 1

  1. Coco says:

    You know, I told nana about the dog food incident, and she said she’d pass the message on to her friend in Gosnells. You may have saved someone hehe.

  2. […] of reading the Wikipedia page on Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD). I instantly identified with most of the symptoms, as did my best friend at the time, and so we identified as having OCD. I fed into that identity […]

Leave a Reply

