WAI-con ’07

So! Here it is, a week overdue. WAI-con 2007!

One of the greatest weekends of the year, I was so very, very excited when I finally found the convention centre. Maybe one in ten people cosplayed as someone, and maybe one in six people were wearing Naruto headbands, myself included! Finally, an excuse, ya? That’s what they were thinking, and they all knew it.

I was blown away by all the merchandise- I actually brought spending money this year, and I blew my budget by quite a land slide. From memory, these are my purchases.
Rurouni Kenshin (Volumes 2 and 3)
-Rurouni Kenshin messenger bag
Devil May Cry 3, Special Edition.
Sabaku no Gaara tee-shirt (Gaara of the Desert/Sand waterfall)
Autobots tee-shirt (from Transformers)
-Portrait of myself, sketched by Alex.
-Two laminated prints, one of Sephiroth, one of the Naruto gang.
-Three bookmarks (Sephiroth and Naruto related).

Finding those pictures so wasn’t worth it. Anyway. I spent ~$190, which was far more than I had intended, but that Gaara tee-shirt, I tell you. And the messenger bag! So happy <3. When did I get so materialistic? Listen to me, I’m like a babbling teenaged girl. So I spent a whole lot of cash that I didn’t know I had, am ~$600 in debt to my Mum for all the money she’s lent me, and Coles hasn’t told me when I’m working, even though they accepted my application. Suss.

Anyway, I was telling you about WAI-con, wasn’t I? First up was the 4 vs 4 Super Smash Bros. tournament, the one I won last year. Over two hours of blood, sweat and nerd tears later, I worked my way up the ranks. I kept running over to the next room to *try* to watch Katie-chan’s J-fashion panel (concerned with the fashions of Japan, lolita in particular) but I only caught short-minute glimpses of it between battles. Gomen nasai, Sanyu-sama! However, I did kick some serious ass. In the grandfinals, the top four players, were myself, Jack, a player named Josh, and a player codenamed Fuckface McGee. Jack came up with the name, but seriously, the dude gets on everyone’s nerves. Pretty decent at Smash, but an asshole in general. Jack faced off with Fuckface, I was paired up with Josh. Recalling last year’s close battle against Link I mentally prepped myself. Josh seemed eager- was he that keen to die?

Turns out Josh is the greatest Smash player I’ve ever met. We both started with three lives, I ended up with zero, he ended up with a total of 61% damage. The guy was incredible. Just landing a hit made me cheer. Everyone watching was like, "Duuuude, Falco’s getting his ass kicked by Peach!" And I was like, "Yeah, thanks ya bastards, why don’t you give it a shot?" But seriously, Josh deserved the cup. He got $150 to spend at Gametraders, I got a Mario plushie. I have no regrets.

The next day was the 1 vs 1’s, and who did I end up fighting first round? Josh. We were having a rematch, it seemed. Four lives each, I battled fiercely but got my ass whooped pretty bad. I took off two of his lives along the way, and felt great about it, so it’s all good! He ended up winning the 1 vs 1’s, too, which meant an extra $150 at GT’s. The guy’s awesome. And if that wasn’t testament enough, Jack and I challenged him, together. Four lives each, Final Destination, Runner up and 3rd place took on the champion. Josh won yet again. With two lives to spare. It was freaking incredible. But anyway, that was the smash tournament!

There was some truly fantastic cosplay this year. I have a bunch of pictures, but I can’t find the cable to connect the camera to the computer, so I won’t upload them for a little while. The announcers, John and Eugene (what the?!) were great too. They seriously made everything a hilarity issue. And the theatre… Magic. The venue was incredible.

At the very end, during the closing ceremony, they had some auctions. Not just raffles, but actual auctions. The winning ten minute sketch from the Quickdraw Art competition was sold for $115. It was a fricking ten minute sketch, that any half-decent artist could have popped out. But it gets better. A Final Fantasy potion was sold for ~$180. The last box of giant pocky was sold for $140. The last box of ordinary, standard run-of-the-mill pocky was auctioned for $80. When I told Willow about it, she laughed and munched on her $0.60 box which she bought at the deli. Some crazy shiz, let me tell you.

Other than that, there wasn’t a whole lot to the convention! Shopping, cosplaying and anime. I only watched the movie Lupin III, and ignored the dozens of other anime screenings that went on. Dad’s yelling at me to get off now, so… Guess that’s it for WAI-con ’07! Hopefully I’ll be cosplaying next year. Ciao, anime-lovers, or bored anime-not-lovers! Keep an eye on the photo-albums for some truly wicked pictures!

4 thoughts on “WAI-con ’07

  1. Pat. says:

    Well done on runner up though aye John! Not bad. Though I wonder what would happened if I played. Hmmm….=P

  2. Bethwyn says:

    you didn’t tell me you won a mario plushie!! squee~ how kyoot!!! :D congrats, babe. ily!

  3. Coco says:

    You looked so smooth going up to get that award. Your movements are like.. silk? That’s the first thing that came to me, anyway. I’m sure you’d prefer "ninja," but alas, I’m not satisfied yet!

  4. Coco says:

    Oh, and by the way! There is no WAI-con ’08. It’s been bumped back a month to January ’09. Why does it feel so far away? It’s only a month…

Leave a Reply

