To Anyone Who Cares

No, I don’t have the right to complain. I may have more things to do, but I’ve had more time to do it. And I just wanted to say that I’m quite stressed, yes indeed. So stressed that I wanted to call someone and tell them how foolish I am. Anyone. But I don’t want to disturb them if they’re studying or sleeping, so I’m going to just write a blog entry addressed "To Anyone Who Cares". Can’t imagine there’d be too many of you- not only am I a distant part of your life, you’ve got your own things to worry about.

So it’s Tuesday night. Tomorrow I have Music Literature and Applicable. I’ll get up at 0630hrs, do a little bit of work, go to school. Have my ass kicked in human biology and economics because I’m about two weeks behind on work.
Thursday is human biology, my literature oral presentation, and after school, a piano performance. Not even going to think about Thursday.
Friday is economics (sweet mother of Jesus), literature essay and music composition.

I have four chapters of human biology to read, understand and learn.
I have an applicable assignment to do by tomorrow, as well as notes to take in for the test.
I have to study, memorise, intimately understand and be prepared to write about two or more Gwen Harwood poems by Friday, as well as prepare for my speech on Thursday.
I have until tomorrow Period 2 to learn everything there is to learn about Ravel’s Piano Concerto, Copland’s ballet and Sculthorpe’s Kakadu.
I have two chapters of economics to read, understand and study.

Eugene just got home, so that’s the end of peace for me. Thursday night is the piano performance, so there’s three, maybe three and a half hours gone. Wednesday Eugene will be home baking cake and being an awful nuisance while Thank God You’re Here sends him into a strange delirium. All in all, if I were to do all the work I wanted to, it would take me roughly 15 hours, without a break. It’s possible, but that’s a very bad idea. So I’m going to go to bed now, get as much sleep as I can, and just hope that I don’t break down again before the weekend.

The more I think about these things, the more stressed I get. It’s gotten quite awful, so I’m just going to stop thinking about them, distract myself when I need to, relax when I can, and study, hopefully, when I should. Too late for long term plans. Now I just have to cram, do a test, forget everything to make room for more cramming, and hope all my scores are 70+. Hahaha, no problem. Avoiding hysteria, going to bed now.

Don’t know how I’ll survive whilst Eugene’s at home, but nature will find a way. Survival of the fittest, and if this is the end of me… Going to bed now.

2 thoughts on “To Anyone Who Cares

  1. Pat. says:

    John, don’t be silly. Lots of people care about you. It’s just that they’re thinking the smae thing as you are right now.
     
    With Mocs and Tee and what have you around the corner, I can understand that it can become overwhelming. Life throws us a seemingly impossible amount of tasks we just can’t be able to seem to do, and it stresses the hell out of us. People are on edge right now, and they’re not acting themselves (Like me). All I can say is instead of relishing in the work you do, look forward to the all the time you’ll have afterwards, and there are going to be a lot of good ones. The best you can do is just say to yourself: "Damn it! I’m going to do the best I can for the next, what 8 weeks or so, and if I don’t, it’ll be okay, and if I do, even better". No-one’s going to think worse of you, just try with watcha got and I’m sure things’ll run smoothly for you in the end. We just can’t see it yet (=P).

  2. Stephen says:

    Xin while you may consider me arrogant in handing on ths advice it has worked for me so perhaps it will help you and others.
     
    While 15hours flat works does seem a daunting task particularly when you are behind that’s is not how you have to think about it. We have a week and a half left to our next exams (atleast 25hours of good hard stressful study) I think you should try and prepare for tests you are about to have in the limited time to of course cram for those. However never forget a long term goal to finish a course, even just a few hours on the weekend can make a significant difference. My method is to chip away until I get stressed enough I am just not working as efficiently as I could be, try and have a good break(which believe me is no mean feat) and then go back to chipping away. Of course this should be carried out within reason and I don’t want anyone to blame me if they take this advice and fail after all everyone studies differently. Basically just find your thing and go with it. This has been my break time. Back to work and good luck.

Leave a Reply

