What a waste of a lifetime.

Life is a waste of time. Every minute you spend on your computer is one minute you could spend doing something else. Every single action I do is apparently and ultimately meaningless. The counter argument is that if I were to give my actions meaning (that is to say, to believe that everything I do is important) I would live a meaningful life. Well folks, that’s impossible, because I know that there are a million other things I’d rather do. I have a million things to study. I have a million books to read. I have a million games to play. I have an infinite number of things to write. I can always take another couple of inches, I can always go one weight higher (not that I do weights – sigh), I can always train harder. And it’s not unrealistic, either.

Instead, I sit in the shower, musing over how much time I’m wasting and thinking of what to write in a blog about it. It’s not procrastination, it’s not consternation, it’s just plain old stupidity. Time wasting. But then again, life is a waste of time, so why not waste all of it? We’ll never live to our full potential- it’s impossible. All we can do is get close then use our abilities to meet our goals. But what if, like me, you don’t have any goals? Just hang in there, try and get some good high school marks, then wander along life’s road aimlessly until you find direction. Maybe then, when you have something to strive for, your life will have meaning. Until that moment, life is a waste of time.

~Xin

Leave a Reply

