Raguel

The longer I think about it, the more I believe I’ve been well and truly (and forgive the term) mindfucked. No, it’s not a very pretty word, but it’s the only one that comes up when searching my databases for a way to describe this sensation.Murder Mysteries. I picked it up in the library today because I saw the words Neil Gaiman- the author Thanners recommended to me many months ago. Turned out to be a graphic novel of epic proportions- I’ve never really been a fan of GN’s. After reading the first few pages I decided to flick through it for words or pictures that could pique my interest. I found one.

Angels. Celestial beings of the holy order, the henchmen (if you will) of God. I didn’t used to think that- heavens, no- but now I have to wonder; it’s certainly one way of seeing them. Once I thought they were the embodiment of goodness and love- those who perform the will of God on earth. After reading Murder Mysteries, the Raguel (the Angel of Vengeance) raised a valid point. Why would God create the darkness, the voices in the dark, hatred, evil and death? God’s Kingdom in heaven is a glorious place (or so we must believe) without pain, unhappiness or malevolence. Why would Earth be different? Don’t tell me God (who plans everything before it comes into existence) wanted Eve to bite the apple and introduce sin into the world? When God made the animals, why did he put a snake in the Garden of Eden? Why would God want us to both fear and love Him? Maybe Lucifer had a point- maybe God’s injustice was worth challenging. I mean, all the church wants is that we devote our lives to worshiping the one true God without question or doubt.

Who is God, and what is His will? What is the function of the universe (assuming He created it, apparently for a purpose)? Why should we trust someone who never explains his actions (he didn’t even tell Lucifer, Captain of the Host, that the army He was building was for an insurrection)? Why must we have faith in something we will never understand? The followers of God can only hope that He knows better than they do. It’s an awful big gamble for someone who introduced evil into the world.

3 thoughts on “Raguel

  1. Pat. says:

    He’s certainly an open God. He gives you the choice whether or not to believe in him. Isn’t that marvolous?

  2. Derrick says:

    hubris and vanity! two things mankind notoriously cannot avoid.

  3. Liam, Baron of Hoskuldstadir says:

    I recovered, revived and revamped my space. I want to make some attempt at an intellectual comeback. Please peruse.
     

Leave a Reply

