Where’s Jaxter? (lol)

I have a rival. To be honest, I’ve never had a rival for very long, because they’re always more determined than me to succeed, and will go to further lengths. Call it laziness, generosity or acquiescence. For whatever reasons, my rivals have all overtaken me, and I wonder now if history repeats itself.

New to the Taekwondo class is Dak. Six years ago, Dak was a rank or two below black belt. Present day,  he’s had one lesson (which he arrived late to) and is faster and more ferocious than me. Somewhere along the line, I decided that because I was so new, I could slow down and practice everything to perfection. Seeing Dak spar, he’s gone for explosive speed over perfected technique. I know that in the following weeks, his technique will improve dramatically, and then he’ll have both. Me? I’ll have technique, and a few broken bones. When we sparred, he connected more than one kick, and moved so quickly and erradically that I decided it was in my best interests to play defensive. He’s hotheaded, impatient and very quick. I wonder what belt he’ll get when he shows his record to Master Ross. If he outranks me, I’ll respect him. If he equals me, I will compete with him. If he is below me, I’ll make sure he stays that way.

For now, I’ve realised I’ve slacked off, and with that there realisation I have the power to do something about it. Dak’s speed and recklessness is intimidating, no doubt about it, and he’d probably beat me in a contact sparring match (fight). What do I do about that? Train, I guess. Mmf.

On a side note, Happy Birthday to a very special someone. I am not worthy of doing much more than that.

2 thoughts on “Where’s Jaxter? (lol)

  1. Lee says:

    Everytime I read your posts that are similar in this I feel strangely disappointed in you.
    It is the same story, you are slacking off and you are planning to change this. Does the change ever happened? Has it happened on previous occasions? Why don’t we hear about these triumphs?
     
    Secondly, I don’t think you can call it generosity to allow people to become better than you, when you have the chance to do just as well. Rather, aren’t you helping to hinder them by not giving as good a competition as you can?
     
     
    Just thought I’d stir things up a little bit.

  2. Angela says:

    Yeah, is a good couple of points in the coment there. When I was training regularly, there was one girl I particularly liked sparring with, simply because I’d trained her from when she was a yellow belt onwards. You know the frustrating sensation of fighting yourself? Fighting her was like that, for both of us. We knew each other so well, that neither of us could win easily, nor cleanly. She’s now a blackbelt, got to the rank in three years, she’s brilliant. Yes, I have a very high respect for her, we sparred with bo staffs, sai, and katana, both of us learning from scratch how to use them and then to the best of their potential…and then how to dodge an efficient attack. We were, before I left, the best in weapon fighting, as in, the use of those weapons, in the club. It was awesome..but I’ve wandered off track.Basically John, size yourself up to this guy, and use him to train yourself, improve YOURSELF for your own benefit, much more motivation points than if you try by yourself. Trust me on this, I know.

Leave a Reply

