Humanity – not just for me

The world continues to astound me. Fully conscientious of the time, perhaps overly so, I must make this quick entry. I’m such a blog-whore.

I read the blog of a friend today. I hadn’t even known it existed, and because I (*like so many others before me*) have reluctantly joined the ranks of the famed myspace cadets, he added me as a friend. It was only two weeks later that I checked, and added him back. I’ve had very few conversations with the guy since Year 9. Sure we’ve talked and joked and laughed about impossible theories, but until today I hadn’t realised who he was. I had never acknowledged that perhaps beneath that cunning smile and that endless assault of repartee, there was a human being. This is one of my greatest faults- I have been blind to the humanity of so many close to me. I thought people were callous, but I was shown that they suffer what I do, and more. I’m just frighteningly honest about opinions, feelings, emotions and anything else that people hide, guys and girls. I am the enigma, not them. I am the deviant, but only because I choose to show it. Perhaps I’ve been a bit ruthless in my judgement of people, and might one day be able to connect with the humanity of those I so often reject.

I am the guilty one here, for not realising that I’m not the only one in the universe who counts.

~Xin

3 thoughts on “Humanity – not just for me

  1. Liam, Baron of Hoskuldstadir says:

    What about us John? Did you ever ruthlessly judge us?

  2. John says:

    Is prejudice in human nature?

  3. Liam, Baron of Hoskuldstadir says:

    Only if you’re weak enough to bring it to the forefront of your psyche.
     

Leave a Reply

