Have Faith in the Counsel

All right then, little bit of a story for you.

This morning, I woke up at 6am and pretended to be awake for another fifteen minutes. Half an hour later, I had eaten breakfast and drank a milo, and felt ready to study for the economics test in Period 2. Having only 45 minutes to study, I got right to it. Sort of. I’d had a little chocolate to go with my brekky, which I thought would wake me up. Instead I was full of energy, fidgeting, tapping my feet, drumming my fingers. I made the very wise decision of staying home from Period 1 (Religious Education: doesn’t constitute a real class) to steal extra study time.

However, when I arrived at school three minutes before Period 2, I made the very big mistake of putting "Moribund" as my excuse for such a delayed arrival. Moribund is a word that means, "at the point of death". I was just being facetious, uncertain whether to say malady or moribund, and I went for the more extreme of the two. My intention was only to pretend I’d been dying from some horrible disease, but in period 3, Mr Mueller told me Mrs Lane wanted to see me. As you’ve guessed, she was extremely concerned about me. I was very flattered, but missed out the crucial point that I was only joking- she thought that the economics test had driven me close to suicide, and made me promise I’d talk to the counselor. I did end up seeing Analiese (sp) after school, and we’ve arranged for an appointment on Monday. I told her it wasn’t necessary, but just in case, she’s going to talk to me, and if I’m not a nutjob, she’ll just give me some study and stress management tips.

Well, lucky me. I get to miss an otherwise highly productive study period to have a quick CAT scan. I noticed two hockeysticks in her office, which intrigue me. I hope we’ll have to gladiator-it-out on a podium suspended dozens of miles above civilisation, but that’s only if I’m lucky. Ah well, I’ll let you know how that goes.

One thought on “Have Faith in the Counsel

  1. Liam, Baron of Hoskuldstadir says:

    LOL LOL
     
    It’s almost like One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest only more hilarious! And all because you put ‘moribund’ as your reason for being late!!!

Leave a Reply

