Return of the King

Well I’m back. God seems to be playing a joke on me in the form of my parents. Still, this entry has three main points.
1. I touched a daddy-long-legs. I was staring at it, wondering why I wasn’t afraid, and then I decided to see how far I could go. They’re harmless, but spiders nonetheless, and I felt guilty when it shirked away and its web trembled for a while. Still, I wonder if I could do the same to a harmless, but more intimidating spider.
2. I am taller than my father. Have I had a growth spurt, or has everyone shrunk? But now that I’m taller than Dad, he put it best.
"Today is the day you become a man." Indeed I have.
3. Kairos (4-day camp) went by faster than I thought possible, and it doesn’t seem as if I’ve left. If it weren’t for the crucifix they gave us, I would be sad to leave. Lee, I know why you loved your camp so much, and I can appreciate your reasons for wanting to go back. I feel it now. I miss my shelter, but part of the challenge of Kairos is re-entering the world with what we learned about God, ourselves and others. Corny as it sounds, I’ve come to understand God in people, and I hope I continue to. Until then, I am a confirmed Catholic, and it’s time for me to sleep. Peace.
4 thoughts on “Return of the King

  1. Liam, Baron of Hoskuldstadir says:

    So tell us what everyone else won’t- what happens on Kairos, and in no uncertain terms?
     
    Otherwise, great to have you back.
     
    PS. If I hear ‘He became/has become a man’ one more time I will embark on a tempestuous disembowling rampage. Does no one else recognise the inherent cliche which sustains it?

  2. John says:

    Sorry bro, can’t tell you. I will tell you that just about everyone who went on Kairos cried. Myself, being the typical emotional and over-sensitive/unstable teenager, more than once. It opens you to honesty, and brings out the inner goodness of everyone who goes. Nobody hates each other on Kairos, and even though mine was full of ‘daros’ (can’t spell it. You know, idiots), I love each of them. Caleb turned out to be sweet and thoughtful, Daniel Russell is getting baptised, it just brings out the goodness in people.If you can go, I recommend that you do. It’s well worthwhile, and it’s not a brainwashing camp.

  3. Ivy says:

    Woohoo you overcame your phobia! AND MOST IMPORTANTLY YOU’RE TALLER!!!
    You’ve become a man baby!
     
    Sigh, too little too late. (x

  4. Liam, Baron of Hoskuldstadir says:

    Stop it! Stop it! Else you’ll catapult me into a cataclysmic tempest of rage!

Leave a Reply

