Hermes

I’ve told you about my heart condition, right? Basically, for reasons unknown, certain physical exercises (apparently those without starting lightly, exempli gratia, 100m sprint without warming up) will make my heart beat around twice as far as it should. This won’t slow down for a while, even when my breathing is deep and even. I’m not sure how it works, but I was told to put my lips on the back of my hand and blow as hard as I could until it calmed down. Works, too. Anyway, just reminiscing. I’m not sure why I’m bothering to write this, but I am.

A while ago, Eugene felt like marshmallows, so we woke up Mum and made her drive us to the supermarket. I wanted Mum to sleep, and insisted that she did, but the prospect of marshmallows was just too tempting.  It was a half-hearted effort, and so she drove us there. Marshmallows, chocolate and scores of junkfood later, I decided the car was too restricting. I proposed a hare and tortoise race with Eugene and Mum in the car and me on foot. It was agreed, and I ran the full length home. It was only about 500m or something, but by the time Eugene walked through the door I was in my room on my computer. Heh heh heh. He claimed he got there first and had gone back to look for me, but no, brother, not even you could get out of that one. I’m pretty sure we put money on that too.

-sigh- If it weren’t for my heart I’d join the athletics. I’m also concerned about it impeding me should I/when I’m learning martial arts formally. But as I  said. Mind over body. Think about it.

2 thoughts on “Hermes

  1. Georgie says:

    i have to disagree with that last statement "Mind over body". You cant chose the way your body is you do what your body can do not what you want your body to do, if you push yourself the result could be disastrous and in your case "think about it"

  2. Ivy says:

    No don’t underestimate the idea of mind of body. It’s true that the body has limitations, but if you don’t pursue your limits you will never reach it.
    The mind can have adverse effects on the body. Even when your body is perfectly fine, if your mind is weak, there is no damned use. I should know cause I have a mild mood disorder that’s hindering me from my fullest potential.
    And what about athletes with no limbs? That’s certainly a case of mind over body. If those people could win able bodied people in swimming/athletics/etc, climb mountains, there’s no reason to doubt the power of mind over body.
     
    So my advice would be to know your limits, but don’t stop till you know.

Leave a Reply

