Why We Shouldn’t Be Sad

Excuse the unoriginality of the title, but I think it fits. I realised something else this morning. Wooo, revelation streak.

There’s always going to be suffering in the world- like hell if I’m ever going to change that. It’s folly to even try. The magnitude is too great. But that doesn’t mean I should give up on the world, or that I should let sadness overwhelm me. There’s no reason to be depressed just because things are going wrong on the planet.

I came up with a quote yesterday. I do this a lot, for reasons I’m uncertain of.
"We are happy until we find reason to be sad."
Pretty standard, right? But think about it. Ignorance is bliss. I’m sure Frankenstein’s creation would agree with me when I say that a simple life of eating and sleeping is a good one. As far as I can tell, most of the problems in the world occur because of the imbalance humans cause. It’s sad, but whether its irreversable or not doesn’t make much of a difference. I can always try to make a difference, whether it be in the trenches of India or in the collection plate at church.

Besides. There’s always good to be found in a situation. Father Mac (great man) said it best.
"If something good can come out of the worst thing in the world- the death of God- then we have nothing to worry about."

One thought on “Why We Shouldn’t Be Sad

  1. Georgie says:

    "We are happy until we find a reason to be sad unless we decide not to let it make us sad" Is what i would prefer.

Leave a Reply

