The Death of an Icon

I repent for my slander of Steve Irwin. I can think of few greater deaths than a knife to the heart- a poisoned one, at that. As a national icon, he will be mourned and more importantly, remembered. Rest in peace, Steve. I’m sure those crocodiles you slayed will be glad to see you.

[I feel really sorry for his kids, hey.]

[EDIT: I am aware of this. He was pro-wildlife conservation for the win. I was just taking a stab at the whole ‘I like to wrestle crocodiles’ thing. He was brave, I’ll give you that. Kind of.. I don’t know, I always considered him a bit daft to handle poisonous snakes for the camera. And then I found out he brought in like, $20 mill. worth of tourism every year. Heh, there you go. Australia: Land of cobras and crocodiles. Come on down and see if you can pick one up without dying.]

2 thoughts on “The Death of an Icon

  1. Korelee says:

    ….. He never really slayed any crocodiles, and if he did it was a minimal amount, and within good reason. He was for animal preservation, hello?!?!?
     
    And about your last entry, I happen to agree with Mai, When you add comments to others diaries they do yours. When you don’t, they don’t.

  2. Georgie says:

    lol i was just about to say the same thing as Persephone. He didnt slay animals – he loved them he only did if it was necessary and hardly at all if any but he hasnt acutally killed any crocs.

Leave a Reply

