A compilation of madness.

One of my favourite poems is by the author Emily Dickinson. The poem is titled, "Much Madness", I think. I kind of regret not doing it for my English poetry analysis, but I’d rather annotate a familiar poet’s work. Regardless, "Much Madness" is a worded version of my beliefs in perspective. I genuinely believe that crazy people are the lucky ones, because they’re not bound by the confines of this society. They’re free. And perhaps, just perhaps, they are genius.
 
***
 
Much madness is divinest sense
To a discerning eye;
Much sense the starkest madness.
’T is the majority
In this, as all, prevails.
Assent, and you are sane;

Demur,—you ’re straightway dangerous,
And handled with a chain.
 
***
 
I leave you now with three quotes that have left some sort of impression on my mind.
 
"So throughout life, our worst weaknesses and meanesses are usually commited for the sake of the people whom we most despise."
-Frankenstein.
 
"It is characteristic of a loving person to sing."
-Motto of the cathedral choir, translated to English.
 
"Everyone’s always striving for perfection, but perfection doesn’t exist."
-John Butler, on "Enough Rope" by Andrew Denton.
Leave a Reply

