The Crippled Generation

You know what really makes me sad?

I wanted to walk to the library, and before I left, my father admonished me of several things.
"Take your mobile, take your bag, and watch out for Aborigines."

This statement alone is racist and generalised, but I could have forgiven his prejudice if he left it at that. But he went on.

"If you see any, watch them carefully. Look at their faces, and follow them. Especially if they’re hanging around buildings." He emphasised this several times. Identify them, try and figure out where they’re going, and report findings back to HQ, sir yes sir. "Call me on your mobile if you see any."

Okay, now that’s a few steps too far. I presumed he wanted to protect me, but he took it yet another step farther.
"Why?" I asked him, crossly.
"So I can beat them up!"

I stopped. I blinked, I swallowed, I tried to get a grip on what he just said. He was biting his lip and his fist was trembling. Whoa. I tried to tell him that by thinking Aborigines were going to beat you up, you’d only give them room for that one option. Unless you gave them a chance to be treated as humans, they wouldn’t be allowed to be good citizens or whatever. But of course he ignored this, and I left, closing the door sadly behind me.

On the way, I did encounter and Aborigine riding on his bike. As always, I slowed my walk in case I had to shift into a fighting stance and defend myself. I do this when any slow-moving car, pedestrian or cyclist approaches. Was I extra careful because his skin was black? I admit it. I was. I didn’t freak out and run for my life, or call Dad. We simply acknowledged one another with eye contact, as he passed.

I don’t know how to break the cycle of racism. But my Dad… He’s just a few steps away from burning down houses and spray painting hate messages. What should I do? I don’t know.

4 thoughts on “The Crippled Generation

  1. Derrick says:

    well, as long as the world ain’t blind, it’s gonna see colour.

  2. Beth says:

    there’s not much you _can_ do. Your dad is obviously set in his ways and everyone I know know’s he’s a racist. But in my opinoin coming from your background he should have better reason than anyone not to be.

  3. Korelee says:

    My uncle and grandmother say the same things about Asians. He told me not to get an Asian boyfriend because he’d think it was like he was back in the war and he’d get out a gun and shoot them. You can’t change people. You can only teach them to think.

  4. Ivy says:

    or unless they’re colourblind.
    but that’s just boring.
    life can’t be perfect, otherwise, it’d be boring.
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY SINGAPORE!!

Leave a Reply

