Touched

So there I was, right? Standing in McDonalds, as much as I hate supporting them, waiting for the sheep to order their food and shuffle on. I look up, and a man (white clothes, blonde hair I think) in his early twenties or late teens is trying to get to the door. Although he had considerable space, he strode towards me and raised his arm, presumably to maneuver over my shoulder. He didn’t. He jerked it out and elbowed me in the face, and I was so surprised that I staggered backwards and could not process anything for a second or two. Then I turned around as he was leaving, and yelled,
"What the hell’s your problem?!" He spun around, one of his arms spread as if to say, ‘Come on!’ and called back,
"Get out of my fucking way!"

He left as Willow turned around and asked me what happened. I explained, and touched my lip, moving my jaw sorely. There was blood on my fingers.

Perhaps it was some sort of tamed hysteria, but I found it intensely amusing that I was bleeding. That a stranger had lashed out at me for the first time in history, and connected a blow with the intent of pain. It has never happened before in my life, and I was honestly not expecting it to. I respected and admired him for being that angry. Instead of, ‘What’s his problem?!’ like I originally thought, it was, ‘Wow, that guy’s been through a lot. I wonder what triggered it?’

‘course now that I’m thinking rationally, he’s an asshole. A lady saw me wiping my lip with a tissue and shirked at the blood, and we got into a conversation about how Australians are dickheads. My mother can never know this- I’ll never be allowed to the city again. What an incredible character that man was though- big, tough, and full of burning rage.

3 thoughts on “Touched

  1. Pat. says:

    You did the right thing, man. Doesn’t matter what he’s been through, he has NO RIGHT to do that to you. I’m sure even my Dad, a policeman, would have squared him in the jaw for that. I’m suprised you didn’t.

  2. Willow says:

    I’m pretty sure he was on the same crack I was.  Violence, anyone?

  3. Georgie says:

    you should have scratched his face and pulled his hair for some reason men are prey to cat fight techniques.

Leave a Reply

