A poet’s nightmare

I had a nightmare last night. I don’t remember what it was about, but I knew it gripped me with fear, and all I was concerned about (in this whole entire world) was surviving. This disturbed me. Fear is.. is just about as evil as you can get.
 
Anyway, what I wanted to say was that it was curious. It must have been during my light sleep (stages of sleep, deep and light and all that) because I was aware that I was dreaming, and very badly wanted to wake up. I remember struggling to move my fingers as I was scared of whatever I was dreaming about. I couldn’t open my eyes, they took far, far too much effort, and my mouth refused to open to let out any sort of noise. I was trapped in a nightmare, too weak to free myself. It was with tremendous struggle I forced my eyelids open, but after this strain, was too exhausted to keep them that way, and fell back to sleep. It was a more pleasant dream, this time.
 
Curious, if you ask me, but very few people ask me. Captain? Your thoughts?
 
 
***
 
 
In other news, my poem for the day! For the yesterday, actually. This was NOT written by me, but rather, found on the poetry site we were looking at in English yesterday. Whoever wrote it could not have done a better job. It’s beautiful.
 

Magnificent Existence

 

God has made existence magnificent,
He has made it through nonexistence.
He has concealed the sea
And exposed the foam,
Concealed the wind and displayed the dust.
The whirling dust flies like a dancer,
The wind is invisible, known only by trust,
The foam moves all about you,
But without the sea no whirling takes place.
Thought is hidden, speech is manifest.

One thought on “A poet’s nightmare

  1. [Whisper]...who's that girl? says:

    i know what it feels like! i hate those kind of dreams too … ive been reading good medicine magazine and according to an article sometimes we fall asleep conciously and we are able to watch our dreams from a corner of our mind…probably what happened in your case. Wow! i love the sense of relief you get when you wake from a nightmare…
     
    PS. I think the poem is great!
     
    sash
     

Leave a Reply

