Phoenix

I just watched X-Men 3: The Last Stand with my brother. Good movie, with tremendous flaws. Won’t ruin anything if you haven’t seen it, but that ending was a slash to the heart. And that clip after the credits? Damn. Anyways, I watched X-Men 2 a few days ago to get into the X-men mood, and when Jean was holding off the water from reaching the jet… The cinematography (if that’s the right word) sent a shiver down my spine, and my eyes closed themselves to the screen and invented this little clip. I paused the movie to write it. Funnily enough, it could have happened.

***

They say that when you’re about to die, your life flashes before your eyes. It doesn’t. All you have time for is to remember the one thing that means the most to you, before it’s all snatched away by the relentless, murdering scythe of death.

I felt that now, as I tapped into the power I never knew existed and parted the water, like Moses. The power of one of natures greatest forces threw itself at me with Thor’s Hammer. I gasped for breath as my left hand behind me raised the jet from the snow. Inside, I could feel Scott’s anguish, but I knew what I was doing. It was the only way.

With a spur of psychic waves, I launched the jet into the sky, and within me, I could feel the power burning. My eyes grew hot as the feeling rushed through my veins, and fire rushed across my body. I had no fear that it would harm me, for it left only a tingling on my skin, and as the flame grew, I felt my power explode exponentially. Lowering myself into a crouch, I burst from the ground, wings of fire erupting from my back, and I spread my arms to the sky.
“Phoenix!” I cried, though I know not why. The hydro tempest hissed beneath me, clearing the land of trees and anything that stood in its way, and I rose above it uncertainly. I was on fire… I was unstoppable. These were the only two things in the world that I was certain of.

The jet hadn’t yet noticed me, and so I dropped from beneath them and shot across the surface of the water. I couldn’t go back to them; not yet. I needed time by myself. Time to see what my new powers had given me. I tensed, and the fire shot out around me into the shape of a soaring bird.
“Phoenix,” I whispered this time. “I am your goddess.”

3 thoughts on “Phoenix

  1. Beth says:

    i thought you had chorale today

  2. Pat. says:

    No, chorale is tomorrow. By which I mean today.
    Pfft, she’s no match for the Juggernaut, bitch! (best line in the movie).

  3. Liam, Baron of Hoskuldstadir says:

    Best line in the movie? Come on, that was simplistic, crude and lame! I found the black version to be of such a higher comedic standard…

Leave a Reply

