EDIT:

Ivy, you don’t know how mediocre my skills are compared to Eugene. I was shamed terribly at mass yesterday when they conned me into playing the piano for the hymns. At the end of it, Eugene played my pathetic version (with roughly 30% wrong notes and so soft it [apparently] couldn’t be heard) and then he played his version. Appegios that rolled up the piano, improvised counter melodies (melodies that are part of the harmony, that are played simultaneously and compliment the original tune) and complexed tremolas, syncopated between his hands.
 
I walked out of the church and nearly cried. I’ll never be anywhere as good as he is. I will always be the brother of the master pianist, who tried to took lessons once, himself.
 
I don’t want to go back to church, and I don’t want to play the piano. Yes. I am an emo.
3 thoughts on “EDIT:

  1. Beth says:

    Xin it doesn’t matter whether or not your brother may or may not be a better piano player than you (i can’t say i have an opinion as I’ve never heard either of you play) what matters is whether or not you enjoy playing or not. If you enjoy playing play. If you don’t don’t. If you like playing but not at church don’t play at church. As you keep telling me everythings simple. It’s that simple. At any rate I would reckon you’re a better player than me. It’s been years since I sat at a piano and played until i could play no more.
     
    Remember this Xin. No matter what you do in life there will ALWAYS be someone who is better at it than you. There will ALWAYS be someone who is worse at it than you, what ever your personal "it" is.
     
    And personally i try not to live me life for other people and I try not to grade myself against someone else’s life. Well sort of. There will always be in the back of my mind that I’m really lucky no matter how i feel otherwise at the time. There will always be someone worse off than me. What I meant is that I don’t go "oh they’re so much richer than me that is so unfair" or "I My life isn’t as good as….." I personally think its stupid to think like that because you can’t be truly happy if you do.
     

  2. Georgie says:

    you dont wear black, you dont listen to emo music your NOT an emo! for crying out loud. Give me strength

  3. Beth says:

    Gee georgie be totally stereotypical why don’t you. Just because someone wears black and listens to *emo music* doesn’t mean they are emo just as much as somone who doesn’t can be emo. Mind you xin isn’t emo.

Leave a Reply

