Wild Ninja Falling

2. 21

Should not have publicised the jump. The entire Year 11 knew within 3 minutes. At the very, very latest, 15. They’re asking me about it in class and in front of teachers. I don’t want to get in trouble.

***

Yeah I gave the crazy ninja stunt another go. Jack jumped off the balcony from the library for the hell of it. Rowan had been querulous about it, not believing I could do it either. As fortune would have it, a bunch of Year 11’s wanted me to prove it.
"Did Jack just jump off the balcony?!" asked one.
"Yeah, we do that," I answered, hurling myself over the ledge less-than-artistically. Hm… Looked a little higher than I remember. Ah well, all for the effect. I landed, better than my last attempt, coiled on the ground. Everyone froze. zomg that guy jumped off the first floor.

Seriously. About 50 people knew within the thirty seconds that followed the jump. And the popularity is unwanted.
"And ye harm none, do what ye will." Okay, fair enough, but the school probably won’t see it that way.

I don’t think it’s such a good idea to continue jumping off balconies. Aside the fact it could be dangerous, it’s just plain stupid now that I think about it. But then again, most stupid things are fun for the short term, until they come back to bite you in the arse.

Just know this, "Luci". I don’t flip around and attempt stupid stunts to get people to think I’m cool. I do it because I want to see what my body is capable of. What I’m willing to make it capable of. And, admittedly, to feel cool. It’s just the most awesome rush seeing the ground fly over your head. I know anyone else can do useless stuff like that. That’s what I’m endorsing. Until they relenquish the fear of falling, they will only look on in envy.

Meanwhile, when my coccyx recovers, I’m going to do that bloody front-flip.

***

"You can’t climb til you’re ready to fall."

Leave a Reply

