Paragons

Greetings lowly mortals!

Just came back from an entirely unproductive weekend at Jack’s house. It was one of the greatest experiences of my known life.

After school ended on Friday, we had organised for Jack’s Mum to pick us up after chorale finished, but then I realised that Dr Braham (choir master, if you will) had gone on band camp with 90% of the chorale itself. So we had an hour and a half to blow after school. We changed our shoes, we grabbed our bags, and we turned Trinity into a massive playground. Run up (and across) walls to grab higher ledges and haul ourselves over, leaping over an edge, twisting in the air and catching it on the way down, then shimmying (shifting) across to land elsewhere. Hm. Stairs on the first floor? Bah, who needs them. It’s so much more accessible to just grab the nearby rail and flip over it to land on the ground. Loads of fun, even if the teachers seemed on sentry duty. As soon as one went around a corner, another would leave the building. They alternated doors with uncanny synchronisation, but hey, it remained awesome nonetheless.

We spent all of Friday and Saturday playing Metal Gear Solid, and I now declare myself a loyal fan. An easy 12 hours or so on the gamecube, plus a little. Today, we went at it with pool noodles. You know, those massive foam things so you don’t sink in a swimming pool? Yeah those. We were swordfighting with them. Rather unwieldly, thick, flexible and whatnot, but loads of fun all the same! Until I got hit in the crux of the legs. That ah, put me off for a bit. Where’s the honour these days, honestly?

So yup, that was my weekend. At present I’m feeling rather… vapid. Just not altogether at peace. Restless, and somehow dirty. I don’t know what it is. I’m not looking forward to church tonight, either, but I’ll keep an open mind. I’ve got things to do this week, and these holidays, so I’ll get them done.

Note: Jack has an uncanny ability to sense foreign presences. I opened his door at 6:30am, intent on holding (the blunt side of) a knife to his throat, just to see what he would do. I took one step in the room and he opened his eyes and sat up with his fists half raised. I tried it again on the Sunday morning, and this time I was perfectly silent and without a weapon. I triple checked, and his eyes were closed. One step in the room and they opened and he sat up again, ready to leap out of bed. That’s just damn weird. I need to learn how to do that.


Zah!

EDIT: Added pictures. There’s Jack, playing with my tanto and imagining impaling himself. And there he is again, with his army camo (favourite clothes) pumping up my matress. It took a long half hour, much teeth grinding, and burning red eyes (which I edited out).

2 thoughts on “Paragons

  1. Beth says:

    soooo tired….. remind me never to go out to an all u can eat smorgasboard with friends by the ocean and then go out to breakfast with other friends the next morning after going to bed that same day….yeah i didnt get in till l8.

  2. Georgie says:

    I am not beneath you in any such way!!! you have alot to learn about respect!

Leave a Reply

