Salgihil

Dear citizens of this bleak and unfair reality,
 
The internet is truly more addictive than smoking. Arguably, it is as consequential. So many hours spent doing so many things, whether to pass the time or enjoy it. You’ll never be able to do everything there is to do. There will never be an end to the interminable joy.

But I’ve realised something. The difference between joy and happiness is that, joy passes. Happiness will always leave a trace of it with you so you remember it was there, once. That’s why you can smile to yourself in earnest for no obvious reason, other than you’re happy.

 
The internet doesn’t make me happy. It provides short term comfort and something like an escape for a few minutes-hours, but when I get off, I usually forget whatever it is I have done. It’s not substantial, it’s not something that makes me happy. I’m almost arrogantly sure this is the case for most people I’ve met.

There are so many things I want to do away from my beloved and dreaded computer. I’ve made this speech so many times before, (when I quit RS for the umpteenth time, for example), and again, I’m going to take charge and do something about it, rather than wasting away. So here goes.

 
I, John Simon Marshall, will limit myself to using the internet for an hour but thrice a week. From 8-9pm on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays, you will have the grace (or curse) of seeing me online. Otherwise, I will not use the internet, unless in case of emergency, or extreme desperation. This is my promise. If you see me online, please hold me to it and remind me to get off.

Thank you.

3 thoughts on “Salgihil

  1. Beth says:

    would the above times have anything to do with the fact that willow is on at those times.

  2. Matthew says:

    Do not make promises you cannot keep.If you can put your freed non-internet time to good use, then I applaud you. My own attempts to escape the clutches of the internet fall somewhere between poor and disasterous.Be well.

  3. Jesslahhh says:

    Aww I’ve tried that before. Hmm I limited myself to going on MSN every second day and even that I couldn’t continue. I think I lasted about a week and that’s it! Hehe, good luck anyway! See ya later :)

Leave a Reply

