Do Not Go Quietly Into That Good Night

Rage, rage against the dying of the light!
 
Or just snooze until it’s day. Which is exactly what I did, against all odds. I slept at 11, woke at midnight, and readied myself for passing the next few hours. Upon realising I hadn’t had a painkiller for about 7 hours, I lay down on my temporary matress in front of the couch were Mum slept. She wanted to keep an eye on me at night, see. I lay there for a while, waiting for her to wake up so I could ask her if I could take another panadol yet, but by the time I could ask, I had fallen asleep. Woke at 3, forced myself to drink a bit, then fell immediately back to bed for another three hours.
 
And you know what? That’s the closest thing to a good night’s sleep. It feels wonderful. I had originally prepared to stay up for the rest of the night after 1 hour’s sleep, but something about the cool, quiet dark of the house (air-con. Eugene stayed up all night RuneScaping in an effort to get another Combat Level for the war at 5am tomorrow- I’ll be there too!) made sleep irresistable. I felt genuinely tired.
 
And when I woke up in the morning and swallowed, it didn’t hurt. My throat felt dry, but it didn’t bring on a short burst of agony as per usual. I almost leapt to my feet and danced, but I was still a little too groggy. I swallowed a few more times happily. This is Day 7, 8 or 9 since I originally developed the symptoms, and they seem to be clearing quite rapidly, though my throat appears to have more pus than yesterday.
 
I was stuck by some inkling of hunger- I haven’t felt that in ages. It was just a small sliver- a tiny thread of hunger. Something close to a tremor before the eruption. That’s also interesting, because I’ve eaten about the equivalent of a very large dinner over the past 5 days. I’m rather hungry now, come to think of it.
 
I also got another surprise. My piss was yellow! I had forgotten entirely that piss is supposed to be yellow. The fifty something glasses of water a day kinda ruled that out though. It looks like I might not be able to stay up all night watching movies as I had originally planned.
 
I do feel the remnants of nausea, encouraging me to vomit. Vomiting is truly wretched. It’s completely uncontrollable, and I hate it. It always brings tears to my eyes, but at least I’m recovering. Hopefully I’ll feel a little better tomorrow and we can take off from there =)
 
To my good health! *raises glass*
2 thoughts on “Do Not Go Quietly Into That Good Night

  1. Derrick says:

    RAAR! Goodonya mate!

  2. Derrick says:

    hunger is a sign of longing for life.

Leave a Reply

