MS

I just found out one of my closest friends, Jen, has Multiple Sclerosis. My initial prayer was typically grief-stricken and tragically whispered.
"Lord… be with her."

 

Then I realised that she wasn’t praying for herself, like I prayed for her. She had no self-pity or regrets. She has even said her life was a blessing. I realised something, and continued.
"No… Lord, be with me for being so blind."
Life always has blessings, if only you bother to see them. Rather than mourning for what you don’t have, it’s much more positive to take the time to smell the roses that you already do.

 

I’m going to look into MS- an intractible disease that deteriorates the nerves. Currently, Jen’s left side has been affected slightly, and fatigue is a constant symptom. Nobody knows exactly what’s going to happen to her, but as soon as I get the chance, I’m going to join in the Multiple Sclerosis Read-a-thon- a reading competition that raises funds to cure MS. I used to do it all the time when I was a kid, and I haven’t heard word of it for a few years. Maybe I can track it down some time.

*sigh* Lord be with her, and more importantly, those who love her.

2 thoughts on “MS

  1. Pete says:

    I have one word for that and it’s not even a word. It’s: ROFL

  2. John says:

    You have a strange tendency to be an asshole, you know that? This is why you didn’t get invited to Alex’s birthday party. Because deep down, you make more enemies than friends.

Leave a Reply

